New materials on history of harbor house

Discovered new materials on the history of Harbor warehouse


A number of warehouses were built on the canal banks of Liepāja port in the end of the 17th century. The warehouse "Bezdelīga" was transferred to the museum. Blocks for load descent/ascent were equipped in the openings of roof windows. The first floor served for grain storage, the second — for a variety of piece-goods. The extentions (weight room and office) were built in the 60-s of the 19th century.

In the Faculty of Architecture's archives from Riga Technical University it has been discovered drawings by its students from 1924 – 16 years before Harbor warehouse moved to our museum. These drawings show its shape and a unique detail – the basement, which wasn’t installed in our exhibition at the coast of Lake Jugla.


Pēdējoreiz atjaunināts:21.05.2016